Look Smart: Calvin Johnson and the process

The Detroit Lions were robbed of a victory by the Chicago Bears, after the refs called back a 35-yard touchdown by Calvin Johnson. While Johnson touched both feet on the ground and maintained possession, the officials ruled that he did not maintain control long enough. The rule is explained below:

The rule in question states, “If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete.”

The video is above! && you guys can decide for yourself…. Go Lions!

Posted in NFL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.